Animal Services

Lost and Found Dogs

The Payette County Sheriff's Office maintains a lost and found file for all dogs that have become lost in the City of New Plymouth.  Please contact the Payette County dispatch center at (208) 642-6006 ext. 1175. 

A city dog license is a lost pet's ticket to finding its owner.  If a dog is picked up there is an impound fee, as well as a per day boarding fee. If your dog does not have current tags, which is required by City Code, it is required that it be purchased at the time of returning the dog to its owner.  You can purchase your dog license from City Hall.  Call (208) 278-5338 for more information.

Dogs are kept for a minimum of three days before becoming available for adoption or placing into other rescues or agencies.

Dog Licensing & Fees

All dogs over six (6) months old shall be licensed. The owner or person having charge of any dog within the city limits shall make application to the city clerk and pay a license fee in the sum of ten dollars ($10.00) for each spayed female or neutered male owned, or the sum of fifteen dollars ($15.00) for every female or male dog which is not spayed or neutered. At the time of application evidence must be provided of proof of spaying or neutering from a licensed and qualified veterinarian. Senior citizens will receive licenses for their spayed or neutered dog for five dollars ($5.00). Licenses provided for herein shall be valid for a period of one year. Licenses lasting for three (3) years shall be available upon a payment of thirty dollars ($30.00) for each spayed female or neutered male, forty five dollars ($45.00) for every female or male dog which is not spayed or neutered and fifteen dollars ($15.00) for seniors who license their spayed or neutered dog. License fees shall be waived for any guide dog or certified service dog that has been properly trained for the purpose of and is used to guide a blind or partially blind person, a person with impaired hearing, or any other severely disabled person who requires a certified service dog.

All dogs shall be licensed for and by the calendar year of January 1 through December 31. Any application for a license for any animal over six (6) months old must have proof of rabies vaccination. For dogs that are being licensed for the first time, the fees required pursuant to this chapter shall be paid no later than December 31 of each calendar year. For dogs that have previously been licensed in the city, fees shall be paid no later than March 1. Any person who does not register their dog and pay the fee by March 1 shall be subject to a ten dollar ($10.00) late fee.

Large & Small Animal Licensing & Fees

This information is being updated. If you have any questions, please contact City Hall at (208) 278-5338.

Contact Info

Payette Partners Rescue Ranch
5138 Blaine Rd , New Plymouth Idaho 83655
Visit Website

All Creatures Animal Hospital
5555 Highway 52 , New Plymouth Idaho 83655
Visit Website

West Valley Humane Society
5801 Graye Ln., Caldwell, ID. 83607
Visit Website